Third Degree Shoplifting

The most common variety of indictable felony shoplifting offense is third degree. A third degree shoplifting charge involves jail exposure of up to five (5) years and is therefore something that must be addressed seriously. We believe that your best step to protect yourself is to hire an attorney experienced in NJ shoplifting like those at our firm, the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall. Our defense team possesses over four decades of collective experience and has successfully handled hundreds of shoplifting cases throughout New Jersey. A lawyer is available to assist you in defending your Middlesex County, Union County, Monmouth County, Essex County, Somerset County or Hudson County case.

New Jersey Shoplifting Law – Third Degree

In accordance with N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11(c)(2), it is a crime of the third degree to shoplift merchandise with a value of between five hundred dollars ($500) and seventy five thousand dollars ($75,000). The law also provides for third degree treatment whenever an incident of shoplifting involves an organized retail theft enterprise and merchandise with a value of $1,000 or less.

In an effort to foster uniform treatment of shoplifting charges statewide, New Jersey has also adopted a directive which is supposed to preclude downgrading of a third degree offense to a disorderly persons offense. The directive applies where the value of the merchandise is $2,000 or more. Where the value of the stolen items is less than two thousand dollars ($2,000), there is no prohibition against downgrading of a third degree charge or indictment to a disorderly persons offense. A shoplifting offense may be remanded to municipal court under this circumstance.

If you or a loved one has been charged with third degree shoplifting, our lawyers are available immediately to address your concerns. Please do not hesitate to contact us toll-free as an attorney would be happy to give you his undivided attention. Contact us without delay at 877-450-8301.